Running

If you knew me 10 years ago, you would be pretty shocked to hear that I managed to run a half marathon this May. I never thought I had it in me to run at all. I am still not really a disciplined runner. When I am training for a race I manage to follow my schedule with the sole goal of not killing myself on race day. So far it seems to have been effective. When not training for a race though, my running schedule becomes more erratic. I still get the runs in, but there isn’t a lot of rhyme or reason to the patterns or distances. The main goal in the off season is to allow me to keep eating all the things I like to eat without worrying about it too much, and I find as long as I get 15km in a week I am usually okay. This morning however, I feel like I hit a new training low. I planned my run, I mean carefully planned my run in order to watch an entire episode of Felicity. I worked out how many minutes the episode was, how many minutes I wanted to cool down for and then worked out when I could stop. I also made sure to not run so hard that I couldn’t hear the dialogue over my pathetic panting. Thinking about this some more, I guess I haven’t really changed that much in ten years. 🙂

One thought on “Running

  1. “A new low?” Are you kidding? I think it was freaking brilliant – shows off your superior math skills!

    And by the way, everyone, I have run with her and you gotta know there is no “pathetic panting” involved. She rocks!

Leave a Reply

