Olympic Fervour

I love the Olympics!  I love everything about them.  I love that I suddenly care passionnately that the Latvian men’s beach volleyball team placed 9th overall.  I love that Michael Phelps won 8 gold medals and set 8 world records.  I love that Karl Shewfelt broke both his legs a year ago and then performed brilliantly in this year’s competition.

I am Canadian and I love watching our Olympic team.  I suddenly become the encyclopedia on sports such as rowing and synchronized diving. I cry as athletes fall and don’t meet their goals.  I cheer and scream while they beat their own records and bring home medals for their countries.  There is just something so feel-good about an Olympic competition.  I tip my hat to all the extraordinary athletes out there competing and giving their best for their country.  Go Canada!!

Leave a Reply

