Favourite Bitter Song

Sometimes a bitter song is just the best kick-start to your day.  I love the songs that are sung by angry women, all powerful and cranky.  Songs like Hit ’em Up Style by Blu Cantrell are awesome.  The best bitter song ever though is You Oughta Know by Alanis Morissette.  It was her first hit off the Jagged Little Pill album and I have to say I didn’t really care for any other songs off it other than Head Over Feet which was like the anti-bitter song.  You Oughta Know is just so raw with pain and anger…I love it.  She must have been really ticked off with the guy she wrote it about.  I don’t have anyone in my life I am that angry at but wow, it just feels like I could when I sing along to that one.  And the lyrics are humourous as well…humour and bitter is a great combination.  The best moment I ever had listening to the song was in Israel with my husband driving in a car with my cousins, and that song came on the radio.  They were both singing along in the front seat of the car while my husband and I looked at each and giggled because we were pretty sure they didn’t understand what they were singing…especially the line about “going down on you in the theatre”.  🙂

Leave a Reply

