Secret Life of Bees

I went to see this movie on Sunday with friend.  We had both read the book and were anxious to see the movie.  Having read the book a long time ago I felt like it might be easier to watch the movie without being as aware of all the little changes that inevitably happen when a book goes to the big screen.  I have to say that this was a really good adaptation.  I am sure there were some inconsistencies, but the movie was really lovely.  Dakota Fanning was beautiful and wonderful – she is turning into such a sweet young lady.  There were moments where I could not take my eyes off her.  Jennifer Hudson is amazing, she is really quite the actress.  She starts off the movie with a dull glaze and by the end of it she has come alive.  Queen Latifah and Alicia Keys also turned in solid performances.  In the role of Lily’s mother, I was thrilled to see Hilarie Burton, who was perfect for the part and looked like she really belonged in that time period.  Overall great movie. One of the best film adaptations I have seen.

Leave a Reply

