Big Day

I don’t live in the United States of America, but last night was a big night, and today seems like an even bigger day for the USA.  My husband and I talked to our children about what was happening yesterday and what it would mean if Barack Obama won the election.  We kept them up past their bedtimes so they could watch the election coverage for a bit.  I woke them both up, as I had promised to do, when Barack Obama was called the winner.

It is so interesting to me that for them, the colour of your skin is a non-issue.  They don’t even notice it.  Which made it interesting trying to explain why this was such a significant victory.  I think they understood it at the end of our discussion and they seemed very excited to see him win.  And now we sit and wait and see what this great leader will do next…

Leave a Reply

