Caramelized Brussels Sprouts

Okay when I was a kid the only food I vividly remember hating was Brussels Sprouts.  I remember that every time my Mom would cook them my brother and I would fight about eating them and measure our sprouts to ensure we both had to eat the exact same amount.  I am sure we drove her crazy.  I have never cooked a brussels sprout in my home.  Never.  Turns out my husband hates them too.  We really are the perfect match.
Last week, in the GOOP newsletter, Gwyneth posted a recipe for caramelized brussels sprouts.  In the recipe she said she has converted many a brussels sprout hater.  So I thought, why not?  I would try it.  I made it last night, and after my husband complained about having to try brussels sprouts, a funny thing happened.  We LOVED them. Seriously.  I had a whole bunch and so did my husband and son.  My daughter was still not convinced, but three out of four is pretty good right?

Here is the recipe – thank you Gwyneth!

Caramelized Brussels Sprouts

These get deliciously sweet and crispy as they cook. I have

converted many a sprout cynic with this great

winter side dish.

SERVES: 12
TIME: 20 minutes
  • 2 1/2 pounds Brussels sprouts, trimmed
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • a few generous pinches of coarse sea salt
  • a healthy drizzle of your best, best extra virgin olive oil (I covet the bottles I get from Armando Manni in Tuscany)
  • 1 lemon, halved

Steam the sprouts for 7 minutes or until just tender. Let them

cool a bit and then cut each in half,

lengthwise.  Heat the olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over

medium-high heat. Place the Brussels

sprouts in a single layer, cut-side down (in batches

if necessary). Leave them for 4-5 minutes, allowing

them to brown thoroughly and evenly – don’t give

into the temptation to stir and toss them! Keep an

eye on them though – the key is to have the flame

high enough to brown them but low enough not to

burn them. When they’ve browned, flip each one

and let the other side get color, an additional

three minutes or so. Remove to a serving platter,

sprinkle with the salt, drizzle with your fine extra

virgin olive oil and squeeze the lemon over,

trying to get a bit of juice on each one. Delish.

One thought on “Caramelized Brussels Sprouts

Leave a Reply

