Walking the dog

While walking the dog, I encounter all kinds of dogs.  Those perfectly trained dogs that sit and let your dog say hi without moving or letting out a peep.  (which is what I aspire to)  The dogs that growl and bark as you pass and kind of make my hair stand on end.  The dog that just wants to play with my dog and is floppy and happy and sniffy.

Then there is this one golden retriever, let’s call her Sam.  The dog is about 6 years old and very pretty and well-trained.  I am pretty sure this dog wasn’t socialized at a young age though, as she really doesn’t like other dogs playing with her or really doing anything other than a quick sniff.  Now the first time our dog Gus saw her, he of course wanted to play and jumped all over her.  The dog freaked out, the owner told us she didn’t like that, so we pulled our dog off and are now very vigilant whenever we see her, which is often.

Here is the part I don’t understand.  When I am walking Gus, and I see Sam, I either cross the road, or hang back or make my dog sit, until Sam is out of the way, as Gus just wants to play with her and she doesn’t like playing.  The owner knows she doesn’t like playing, and that my dog plays, yet will go out of his way to cross the street or come over to see my dog EVERY single time.  At which point, of course, my dog goes to play with Sam, which makes Sam upset.  Sigh.  At which point I have to grab my dog, and walk away first.  Owners are inexplicable.

3 thoughts on “Walking the dog

  1. From a Golden that loves to play- We dogs reflect the attitudes of our owners. What you’re saying offers proof. Sam’s human needs to be trained so he can “train” Sam. Fat chance! GRs are normally very friendly and playful – take it from one of the breed. Visit me at: http://www.SandySays1.wordpress.com

  2. Goldens are normally very social. Their behaviour mirrors the training and exposure offered to them by their owners. As world renowed dog expert Barbara Woodhouse would say, “There are no bad dogs, just bad owners.”
    I would tell the owner pretty much what you wrote here. That it’s her dog that has issues and puts you in a spot so they should move it along and out of the way.

  3. My suggestion. Politely (impolitely might work too) ask the owner not to approach you or even resort to body blocking Gus’s access to the retriever or the retriever’s access to gus. Your other option is to allow the sniff and call him away and reward him hansomely for returning is attention to you. Gus is getting reprimanded for something that is not his fault. He is a teenager (gus your pup that is) and you will get to where you aspire to be in time (probably great progress once teenage putty brain subsides).

    yes dog owners are inexplicable and the odd thing is they blame their dogs behavior on their dog when it is in all probability caused by, encouraged by, inadvertantly rewarded by, recognized by or allowed (and is self rewarding for the dog) by owners themselves.

Leave a Reply

