Permanent by David Cook

Welcome to my new favourite song…I can listen to it over and over and over and over and really, over again…

Give it a listen yourself here.

I heard it for the first time on So You Think You Can Dance Canada, where Nico and Allie did a beautiful contemporary dance to it and immediately had to get the song.

There are so many things I like about this song.  I love David Cook’s voice – it brings me back to the most awesome ’80s power ballads.  It is so raspy and cool to listen to.  The words are absolutely beautiful, and and written for his brother who has cancer.

“Is the moment where I look you in the eye?
Forgive my promise that you’ll never see me cry”

The arrangement is beautiful and really showcases Cook’s voice and the lyrics.  I can’t understand why I am not hearing it on the radio yet?  It should be on there all the time.

Anyhow give it a listen, or many.  I love it.

Leave a Reply

