Maternal Instinct

I think the maternal instinct is downright creepy.  Time and again my actions prove that it really does exist.  It doesn’t seem to work in the same way for fathers, well at least my husband as he is the extent of my research on this subject ;-).

The most recent occurence of this phenomenon was last night.  My son has been very sick all week with a terrible cough and all the things that go with it.  We went to the doctor and got some extra strong cough syrup.  I find that once we put him to bed at night he is pretty good until about 5am when he awakes coughing again.  So I have just been following our normal routine all week which is checking on him (and my daughter) when we go to bed.

Last night, inexplicably, I got this weird urge to check on him at 9:30pm.  I NEVER do this.  I got up and went upstairs and checked him and he was burning up.  Got out the thermometer and he had a fever of 104.  I immediately plied him with Advil and put him back to bed.  He was still responsive and talkative so I wasn’t freaking out.  I checked on him every half hour after that and the fever kept going down so I knew he was going to be okay.  I then also set my internal alarm to check him at 3am, when the fever was gone but just in case I gave him extra Tylenol.  Still sick, but no high fever this morning…we will be watching him closely tonight.

All of this to say that it is creepy how I just seem to know when they are sick and need me to go check on them.  This maternal instinct thing is pretty good :-).

One thought on “Maternal Instinct

Leave a Reply

