The Time Traveler’s Wife

Today I skipped out on my family to go see The Time Traveler’s Wife with my movie friend.  I read the book by Audrey Niffenegger years ago and LOVED it, so I was beyond excited to see the movie. 

I thought it was so well cast.  Rachel McAdams is so bright and sunny in this role, and Eric Bana is beautifully dark and conflicted.  I thought the time traveling effects were really well done.  The only real thing I was disappointed was that they changed the ending of the story from the book and I had really loved the original ending.  Here is a summary if you don’t feel like reading the book:

Clare is devastated by Henry’s passing. She later finds a letter from Henry which asks her to “stop waiting” for him, but which describes a moment in her future when she will see him. The last scene in the book takes place when Clare is 82 and Henry is 43. She is waiting for Henry, as she has done her whole life, and when he arrives, he clasps her in his arms.

I just thought that was magical in the book and I was sad that the movie chose not to use that ending…otherwise, I loved the movie.

2 thoughts on “The Time Traveler’s Wife

Leave a Reply

