Diana Gabaldon

I am beyond excited. One of my favourite authors ever, Diana Gabaldon, author of the Outlander Series, is in town tonight. And I have tickets to see her!! She is in town to promote her new book, the latest one in the series, An Echo in the Bone. I have not yet read the book. It came out in September and I was going to read it before tonight, but as it is really long and one of my favourites I decided to wait a bit and then read it slowly, savouring each page. I am so very excited to hear her read from it tonight. I am dying to know which part she chooses to read, and find out why she chose it. I am also excited to hear the words in her own voice as I am sure it will add even more meaning to the passage. I am hoping there is a Q&A as well so I get to hear her thoughts on all the characters and plot developments and upcoming ideas/books. I truly love her books, and think she is an amazing writer, and I am feel like I am going to meet a rock star!

Update on yesterday – She was so fabulous!  She was everything I expected and so much more.  She is incredibly funny and has a very dry humour which I guess I should have figured out from the dry humour in the books.  She read a great passage about Jamie and Claire.  There was a question and answer period as well, which was mostly filled with questions I already knew the answers to from reading her webpage occasionally, but was still fun to hear her answer in person.  And then the woman signed books for over an hour.  I am not sure how long she was signing for because I waited in line for an hour and 15 minutes, got my books signed and left, but there was still a really long line of people waiting when I left.  I am sure she was there for another hour at least.  Some people brought gigantic bins of books!  Craziness…but wow I love her even more now that I have met her.  And boy I really need to start writing that best selling novel I always planned on publishing ;-).

One thought on “Diana Gabaldon

  1. I sooooooo wish I had been there! How exciting!! I didn’t even know there was a new book out – I thought it was another one of those Lord Grey mystery thingies. Well, now I know what is going on my Christmas wish list.

Leave a Reply

