Curly hair

A blog that I read regularly by a woman that I think is wonderfully insightful and witty and lovely to read, posted today about her hair, and how she occasionally gets sick of it being straight and wishes for another style.  After talking to loads of women she was saying that most women think the grass is greener – meaning if you have curly hair you wish it was straight, if you have long hair you wish it was short, if you have blond hair you wish it was dark etc.  I have to say I don’t fall into that category.  I love my curly hair.  LOVE IT.  It is so ridiculously easy to care for.  I wash it.  That is it.  I don’t even use any product unless I am going somewhere special.  I straighten it about 5 times a year, for a different look, but most of the time it is just flowing in its natural curl.  I grew up with wavy hair until I was about 14.  That is when the big ’80s poodle perms became the look du jour.  Of course I ran out and spent $20 to get one.  What ended up happening to my hair is bizarre.  I had the poodle look for a month or two until the perm started to grow out.  And then, as it grew out, it continued to be lovely and curly.  It has been curly ever since, and actually has become a lot curlier over the years, to the point where I have corkscrew curls in places.  I love it!  I wonder if because I grew up with straight-ish hair, and now it is curly, if that is why I am okay with the curly thing, because I got to experience both styles.  Anyhow, I guess it seems weird, but I do love my curly hair :-).

2 thoughts on “Curly hair

  1. I grew up hating my curly hair and only started embracing it a few months ago. I hope that one day I’ll get to be as confident of it as you are, but lets just say that the day has yet to come.

Leave a Reply

