The Book Thief

I just finished The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. It was really not what I had expected it to be.  The first thing that threw me off was that it was a young adult novel, but I am not sure why.  It seemed pretty adult to me, I am really unsure what qualified it as young adult.  I am not an expert on the subject obviously.  The next thing that threw me off was that it was narrated by Death.  Personally I think if the author had just told the story without the narration it would have been better.  I liked the story, it was sad but good and a very interesting perspective.  I sometimes wished a bit more detail was put into the story, so I could understand a bit more about the background of the characters.  The underlying moral of the story, that words are like weapons, that can be planted for good or evil, was quite brilliant.  I really liked how that unfolded.  I loved the relationships the author built as well.  For some reason though, the style prevented me from engaging in the story until about 2/3rds of the way through the book.  In the end I liked it, and appreciated the story, but I didn’t love it and am not sure if I would recommend it.  It did make me think though.

Leave a Reply

