Stretching

Okay, so here it is. My most abhorrent thing to look at…the very idea turns my stomach over. Ear lobe stretching….when someone pierces their ear and then increases the size of the hole over time by wearing bigger and bigger earrings. Honestly it is the most awful thing ever. Whenever I see it, my mind pictures what those piercings look like sans earring and I just feel ill. Just a pale flapping ear lobe skin thingie. I am not generally a fan of any facial piercing, other than standard earrings. Just not my thing.

I had a barista make me coffee a few months ago while wearing a nose piercing shaped like two long black tusks coming out of his nostrils. I can still see it vividly in my mind. This is how much it disturbed me. I couldn’t drink my coffee because it felt like things were dripping from his nose into my drink. Yep I have issues with that kind of thing.

Back to the stretching thing though, I can’t get my head around it. Sure you look cool right now while you are a disaffected teen or twenty-something…what happens when you are in your mid-thirties and it turns out you aren’t going to be a rock star but instead lead a corporate life, but now you have giant holes in your ear lobes? I just don’t understand the thought process behind it. You can take out the lightning shaped earring in your eyebrow, but when you take out the gigantic circle thing from your ear lobe you are left with a giant circle hole in your ear lobe!!! Why am I the only person on earth aware of this? It baffles me. I live in terror that this fashion will still be en vogue when my 11 and 9 year old are out of my controlling grasps and that they may temporarily lose their sanity and then I will end up having to arrange for them to have ear lobe surgery to repair the crazy yucky holes…in the meantime I just disparage it as much as I can in front of them so hopefully they will hate it as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

