The Big Guy

For our book club, I just finished reading A Piece of Cake by Cupcake Brown. It is quite a story, with many things for us to discuss – we actually talked about the book for just about our whole meeting, which is rare. The biggest thing that struck me was her relationship to God. She writes about how she didn’t know how to talk to God. I have to say I am not really sure the correct way to talk to God either, but I do it every day any way. Him and I have a pretty casual relationship.  I try not to take up too much of his time, I figure he’s busy, he has a lot of stuff going on, people’s needs to attend to. I keep it short – ask him for what I need very clearly and specifically, and thank him for helping me out. I send him over to help out my friends who are in need, and tell him how much help he better be sending. I ask him to fix all the things that I need a little help with too. I try to not ask for things that are too big or difficult to grant, I save those for special occasions so he doesn’t get tired of me. Most of the time I just ask for a little help to get through the day or to cope with a situation. I think most of the people in my life may be shocked to know that I have this ongoing conversation with God. I just feel like I can use all the help I can get, and in the past he has been pretty good to me. I find that the bulk of my requests get granted. This could be just a fluke or coincidence, but I really believe that God is listening and helping me out. So if you are going through a tough time and suddenly you feel a little lighter, just know that whether you believe or not, I do, and I have asked for a little help for you. Now if you want to start chatting with whatever higher power you believe in, and sending it my way, I am very open-minded and welcoming 🙂

Leave a Reply

