RIP Whitney

I was out for dinner with friends, and as we were leaving I glanced at my blackberry and saw the news that Whitney Houston had died.  I was devastated and shocked.  I immediately shed a few tears.  I really always believed in her comeback.  I know a lot of people are writing about her troubles, but I prefer to focus on her beauty, strength and voice.  Gosh I loved that voice.  Someone wrote recently that they heard God in her voice – I totally agree – every time she sang I felt her sparkle and her soul.  That woman could sing!! 

This picture is how I will remember her – so incredibly beautiful.  I will also remember her through the incredible musical legacy she has left us.  A few of my favourites:

1 – I will Always Love You – it is crazy how this song never gets old.  I can listen to it over and over and over.  I try to sing along but I am not even close to hitting those notes.  I figure Whitney wouldn’t mind though, she was cool like that.

2 – I Wanna Dance with Somebody – To me this was the fun Whitney, the song I would play while getting ready to hit the town.  She was so hopeful in this song, and so light and joyful.  It always brings a smile to my face.

3 – Greatest Love of All – This song is phenomenal.  I can still remember the first time I saw her perform it on tv – I was awestruck.  I think if she hadn’t done I Will Always Love You this would have been her signature.

4 – Exhale (Shoop Shoop) – I loved this song and movie so much that I started Waiting to Exhale nights with my friends.  We got together once a month and cooked together and hung out.  I own the movie and watch it every now and then…the next time I watch it I will be missing Whitney even more.

I could go on listing songs all night…but instead I think I’ll just go give her cd another listen…maybe you should too.

One thought on “RIP Whitney

Leave a Reply

