Novel Spaghetti Sauce ;-)

I was reading a book a couple of weeks ago…pretty much my favourite thing to do.  As I was reading the character was making a spaghetti sauce and the characters who ate the meal raved about it so much I actually had to look up the recipe and try it myself.  I am guessing most people probably wouldn’t bother but I was so intrigued as it sounded like such a strange recipe.  The recipe is from Marcella Hazan, and the secret ingredient is San Marzano tomatoes.  Apparently these tomatoes are hard to find and expensive, but I found them at Costco and bought 6 cans for less than $10.  I was in the game…here is the recipe:

1 28oz can of San Marzano tomatoes

1 onion peeled and cut in half

4 tbsps of butter

Take the tomatoes and put them in a saucepan, and smash them with a spoon.  Add the butter and the onion, cut side down.  Bring to a boil and then simmer for 45 minutes.

That’s all.  We add fresh ground pepper and salt and some parmesan cheese but you don’t even need to.  It is the yummiest sauce I have ever had.  I am almost done my 6 cans from Costco, I have made it a lot!!  I have made it for guests and they loved it too 🙂

And all this from a book!!  The book was True Believer by Nicholas Sparks and it was a good read 🙂

Leave a Reply

