Indentured Servitude…in a good way

I sometimes wonder if I will ever get the mountain of laundry completely washed, folded and put away.  (we call it Mount Washington at our house)  And if I ever manage to get it completed, will I get the pile of dishes on the counter washed, dried and put away?  And the dishwasher loaded, run and put away?  But wait, there is aways one more meal to cook, and then a table to clear and food to put away.  And grocery lists to write, shopping to finish, and everything to be put away.  The errands and tasks are endless.

Then I wonder, one day in the  not too distant future when my kids are older and moved out, what will I do with all my spare time?  Who will I cook for?  Whose laundry will I do?  Who will need to be driven across town 5 days a week?  It seems to be a no-win situation.

Today while I was running in and out of the house from one errand to the next, I looked at the counter as I grabbed my purse to head out the door.  “Whose cup of tea is that on the counter?” I was puzzled since I am the only tea drinker in the family.  My darling daughter piped up “I made it for you Mommy.”  My heart melted and I took a five minute break to enjoy it and remember how much I love my life and how blessed I am.

Leave a Reply

