What I’m reading this week

This has been an excellent book week for me so I thought I would share.  I kicked off the week with The Taker by Alma Katsu.  This was a recommendation from a trusted book friend.  It was really different, about supernaturals but also about a woman’s life a few centuries ago and her love story.  I have been reading a lot of young adult supernatural books so I was kind of shocked by how evil the bad guys were and how it didn’t all end perfectly with everyone happy.  This book was definitely not for the faint of heart, it was pretty graphic.  I enjoyed the book a lot – it is a trilogy, but the first book was very self-contained.  I am not sure yet if I will read the next two.  I didn’t feel a pressing urge to keep reading about the story, so maybe she wrapped it up a little too well?

Then I read Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick, which is the final book in the Hush Hush series about Nora and Patch, her beautiful Fallen Angel.  This is young adult and I have been reading the series with my daughter.  The hero is pretty hot and dark and brooding, all the things I look for in my supernatural  leads.  The story pivots around Nora, who is a strong female lead who fights and leads an army and takes control of her destiny, which I like to see in young adult fiction.  It was a really satisfying end to their story, and they really tied all the storylines up – there were some pretty good twists as well which I wasn’t expecting.  My daughter also enjoyed it so a big thumbs up for the whole series from both of us!

Currently I am halfway through Thoughtless by SC Stephens.  My friend at work recommended this to me as the next series to read after Fifty Shades and the Crossfire series.  I was a little doubtful that it could be that good, but she assured me it was even better.  As I am only half-way through I can’t fully comment on if it is better than the other two series, but I am seriously loving it and totally addicted to the main character, Kellan.  It is another steamy read, but not the same kind of steamy as the other two series.  I have no idea how this one is going to wrap up, but I am hoping to find out later tonight.   I am so addicted to reading it right now that I stayed up most of last night reading, and cannot get the story and characters out of my head today…I MUST finish it and know how it turns out.  I am pretty excited to start book 2 as well…guess I know how I am spending this weekend.

One thought on “What I’m reading this week

  1. Sometimes we just luck out. Well, maybe it isn’t luck but who knows? I always say that you get out what you put in. Kendra and I are much the same as what you are describing. I found her babyhood a nightmare but the teen years were so great. I was able to take her to work with me during the summers and I think those random days were days that we bonded. They were so much more than work days. We talked about all the things that you described and quite often, during the silences, the dialogue that went on between us was indescribable. Now that she is nearly grown, (I say nearly because at 21, she thinks she is, and I will never agree) I marvel at the young woman that she has become. It makes me giggle at how much like myself that she is. She’s wise beyond her years and really what I say about raising little girls, is that when doing so, you are actually raising your best friend. So did we just get lucky or was there some unknowing act that we performed along the way? Both, perhaps.
    xo
    Lana

Leave a Reply

