The Mookie

While I was running with a friend the other day, we were discussing food (of course! What else does one talk about while exercising?). She told me she had just found a recipe on Pinterest for 1 chocolate chip cookie. I hate baking cookies, because it takes forever and makes such a mess. It feels like such a process! I know it is all in my head as I love baking brownies, cupcakes and muffins. Just cookies really that seem to cause me heartache. Of course the kids are always thrilled when I do make them. So the idea of a cookie in a mug? No mess, no fuss, easy peasy. I was in! I googled the recipe when I got home and this appears to be the original one. Thank you Melissa for the fabulous recipe 🙂

I of course had to change it a bit to make it egg-free so this is what I did…and it turned out amazing! The kids loved it and I just threw everything in the dishwasher after. Such a fun afternoon snack. My son dubbed it the Mookie which I thought was brilliant!

Chocolate Chip Cookie in a Mug (or The Mookie)
Prep time: 5 mins
Serves: 1

Ingredients
•1 Tablespoon Butter
•1 Tablespoon Granulated White Sugar
•1 Tablespoon of firmly packed Dark Brown Sugar
•1 pinch of Vanilla Extract
•Small Pinch of Kosher Salt
•1 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
•3 tbsp of All Purpose Flour (slightly less than ¼ of a cup)
•2 tablespoons of Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips

Instructions
1.Soften your butter in the microwave or on the counter.
2. Blend sugars and butter together with a fork.
2.Add vanilla and salt. Stir to combine.
3.Add applesauce. Stir to combine.
4.Add flour, then stir again.
5.Add the chocolate chips, and give a final stir. Now your mixture will look like cookie dough.
6.Cook in microwave 40-60 seconds, start checking for doneness at 40 seconds. Mine took 55 seconds. Do not cook past one minute, just like a regular cookie, this will continue cooking as it cools. If the cookie is dry or cake like, try less time.
7.Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

