Race Weekend

images

I am not running in Ottawa Race Weekend this year. First time I am missing it in 8 years.  I wish all of my friends who are running a super race, and much speed and joy while they run.

I have no idea why I am not running other than the fact that I just don’t feel like it.  Yep, that’s it – I just don’t feel like it.  I waited and procrastinated about registering and by the time I looked into it the races were all sold out.  If you know me at all you know that I never ever procrastinate – I am always the first in line to get it all done early and quickly to avoid disappointment.  This was my first clue that I wasn’t feeling it this year.

I had a terrible race last year.  I got injured, I was miserable, my time was horrible.  Of course that influenced me.  But I ran a 10km in October and it was a great race, and I had a terrific time and hit a PB.  I raced again in the Winterman with some colleagues and had a really fun day. However,  I was waking up on the weekends thrilled to bits that I hadn’t registered for Race Weekend and that I could lie around and enjoy my day instead of putting in a long training run.  At the same time, I haven’t missed a run – I run regularly 3-4 times a week, happily most days.

So for whatever unknown reason, I am not running this weekend and I am okay with it.  Maybe I will run next year.  Then again, maybe I won’t.

Leave a Reply

