My little secret

JeremyMP / Foter / CC BY-NC

We have just had our Jewish high holidays, Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippur.   These are our new year and day of atonement. I love all the Jewish holidays and celebrating them with prayer, traditions, family, and great food.  The purpose of Yom Kippur is essentially to spend a day reflecting on your past year, and atoning for any sins you have committed.   You also fast from sun down to sun down to make sure you are really atoning.

Let me say first off, that I am not an orthodox Jew.  I grew up not spending the day in synagogue, but spending it at home with the family.  No electronics, no going out, no doing any type of work.  Essentially a day spent in quiet activities, and lots of thinking and reflecting.   No one really likes Yom Kippur, it is not a “fun” holiday.  But here is the truth, I have always kind of enjoyed it.  I even sort of look forward to it.  Weird eh?

In my crazy existence, it isn’t often that I get a whole 24 hours to just BE.  I don’t have to go anywhere or do anything.  I can spend some time reading, and some time writing, and some time thinking and reviewing the past year.  Even as a child I secretly loved spending the day this way.  I also love the sense of accomplishment once the 24 hour fast is over.  I love how I feel knowing that I was able to do this one thing, and I always make a super fantastic meal to celebrate.  I make a homemade soup to break the fast, an egg-free challah to dip in honey, and it just tastes so much better after 24 hours spent reflecting.

This year was extra special as my daughter fasted for the entire 24 hours with me.  I have always made it a voluntary thing for the kids, just having them do it for as long as they can.  My daughter was very determined this year and it was pretty cool breaking the fast together for the very first time.  I think she may secretly like the holiday just like her mom.

Photo credit: JeremyMP / Foter / CC BY-NC

Leave a Reply

