Written in stone

gwilmore (I HATE THE NEW LAYOUT!) / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA

I was searching for a document a few days ago, one that I received many years ago, so I was digging pretty deep in my stash of stuff.  I stumbled across an old letter during my search.  It was pretty much a hate letter from a former friend.  If you know me at all, you know that the word former doesn’t come easily to me.  I stick around.  I LOVE my people.  This friend was a university friend that I was inseparable from until I met my future husband.  Even though I did everything I could to keep her in my life, she just didn’t like me happy.  She made my life miserable for many months, and when I refused to engage in her attacks, she found other means of getting to me.  In case you were having doubts, I still have several amazing friends from that time in my life, she was the only one who turned on me ;-).

So, back to the letter.  I opened it up and read it and was immediately catapulted back to my feelings of sadness and hurt from that time.  The letter called me all sorts of names and disparaged my character and actions.  It was quite simply, a horrible, mean, vindictive letter.  I have no idea why I kept it.  In fact, upon re-reading it, I promptly tossed it into the closest garbage, where I should have put it 20 years ago.

Now I am left wondering what she thought she was gaining from giving me that letter?  When people put pen to paper to spread hate and anger no good can come from it.  It is crazy that words can cause pain 20 years after they are written.  I think that’s an important thing for me to think about moving forward.

Looking back, I guess I am pretty lucky she walked out of my life.  I have no time for that kind of negativity and instead choose to surround myself with love and positivity.  Thanks to all my people for continuing to be so fabulous. xoxoxo

3 thoughts on “Written in stone

  1. What a great post! I can relate so much!! YOU are a keeper! I have some letters like that—I know what I should do with them:)

Leave a Reply

