Sing-along

IMG_20141126_212612I’m no lyrical gangsta. Seriously.  I used to be.  I used to know every word to every song I loved and then somewhere along the way it all went to pieces.  I think I just got distracted and a bit deaf.    I love to sing along.  I pick up most words pretty quickly so that I can at least mumble/hum through it until I get it right.  I am in the car alone a lot so most of the time there is no audience for my inaccurate sing-alongs.  A lot of the time I ride with my girl, who if not singing along with me, will often mid-song, look at me and just sadly shake her head.  She corrects me occasionally, but I think she also enjoys my crazy adlibs and leaves me to my own devices for her own entertainment.  Two of my latest lyrical mishaps are as follows:

Jealous – Nick Jonas

He says: I turn my chin music up, and I’m puffing my chest, I’m getting red in the face, you can call me obsessed.

I sing: I turn my cheap music up, and I’m puffing my chest, I’m getting ready to face you, can call me obsessed.

I think my version is better.  What the heck is chin music anyway?  Seriously? If you know, please leave me an answer in the comments.

Break Free – Ariana Grande

She says: This is the part where I say I don’t want ya, I’m stronger than I’ve been before. This is the part where I break free, cause I can’t resist it no more.

I sing:  This is the part where I say I don’t wanna, I’m stronger than I’ve been before.  This is the part where I play it sweet, cause I can’t resist him no more.

Obviously, I would have been in better shape for getting the lyrics right if I had known the name of the song.  Insert red-faced emoji here.  Also, Ariana, while having a very beautiful voice, is not much of an enunciator.  😉

All of this to say, if you hear me singing along, and it sounds like I am singing a different song, I probably am, and I’m okay with it.  So if you aren’t, just move along or put your earbuds in.

One thought on “Sing-along

Leave a Reply

